International Competition Jurors

Here we introduce the five jurors who will decide the destination of awards including The Robert and Frances Flaherty Prize from the fifteen International Competition films for YIDFF 2019.

Hong Hyung-sook (KOREA)

Since Doomealee: A New School Is Opening (1995, YIDFF ’95) garnered her acknowledgement as an auteur, her works had been invited to prestigious film festivals. The artistic director of DMZ International Documentary Film Festival.

Junha’s Planet   Oct. 16 10:00 YC

Sabine Lancelin (FRANCE)

She belongs to the first generation of French female cinematographers. She has been the director of photography on numerous films of Manoël de Oliveira and others.

Our Madness   Oct. 16 10:00 CL

Ossama Mohammed (SYRIA)

Filmmaker. Exiled in Paris since 2011. Silvered Water, Syria Self-Portrait (2014) won the Award of Excellence at YIDFF 2015. Received the Prince Claus Award in 2015 for his personal humanitarian and artistic biography.

Step by Step
Sacrifices     Oct. 16 12:50 CL

Deborah Stratman (USA)

As an artist and filmmaker, she has exhibited internationally at venues including MoMA NY, Berlinale etc. She teaches at the University of Illinois.

Vever (for Barbara)  
O’er the Land     Oct. 12 19:00 M1

Suwa Nobuhiro (JAPAN)

Filmmaker. After his first feature film 2 Duo (1997, YIDFF ’97), M/Other won the FIPRESCI Prize at the 1999 Cannes Film Festival.

a letter from hiroshima   Oct. 12 19:00 M1