International Competition Jurors

Here we introduce the five jurors who will decide the destination of awards including The Robert and Frances Flaherty Prize from the fifteen International Competition films for YIDFF 2017.


Ignacio Agüero (CHILE)

Born in Santiago, Chile in 1952, Agüero is a filmmaker, writer, and producer. One Hundred Children Waiting for a Train (1988), Dreams of Ice (1993) and The Other Day (2012) were shown at YIDFF.


Dina Iordanova (UK)

Dina Iordanova is Professor of Global Cinema and Creative Cultures at the ancient University of St Andrews in Scotland. Her interest is in the cinema of non-Western traditions. She has published extensively on film festivals, and has served on a variety of juries around the globe.


Ranjan Palit (INDIA)

Cinematographer, director and producer. As a cinematographer, he has shot not only over a hundred documentaries, including For Maya (YIDFF ’99), and A Night of Prophecy (YIDFF 2003), but also feature films and commercials. The many documentaries he has directed include A Magic Mystic Marketplace (1996) and In Camera (2009).


Jocelyne Saab (LEBANON)

Born in Beirut, 1948. Her first feature documentary Lebanon in Turmoil won the Arab Critics Award and her debut feature film A Suspended Life (1984) was selected for the Cannes International Film Festival. She works in multiple mediums including film, still photography, and art installation.


Shichiri Kei (JAPAN)

Born in 1967. His recent experimental work includes the “Cinema from Sound” series (began in 2014), which consists of live performances and work-in-progress films. His most renowned work is Once Upon a Dream (2007–2016).